Host University

Aristotle University of Thessaloniki

The Aristotle University of Thessaloniki (AUTH) is the largest university in Greece. The University Campus covers some 23 hectares close to the centre of Thessaloniki. It comprises 42 Schools and hosts 86,000 undergraduate students, 9,000 postgraduate students and 2,330 Teaching and Research Staff.

Department of Physics

The Department of Physics of the Faculty of Sciences of the Aristotle University of Thessaloniki was established in 1928 and is one of the oldest and largest departments, both in students and academic staff, as well as in scientific and research activities, where it holds the leading position in the university. It comprises five sections, the Astrophysics, Astronomy And Mechanics Section, the Nuclear And Elementary Particle Physics Section, the Solid State Physics Section, the Electronics And Computers Section and the Applied And Environmental Physics Section.

Solid State Physics Section

The Solid State Physics Section, the largest one in the Department of Physics, studies mainly the solid state of matter, covering the whole range of metals, semiconductors and insulators. Its scientific activity ranges from theoretical studies to experimental procedures and technological applications. Its scientific topics include Electrical Measurements, Electron Microscopy, Optics, Spectroscopy, Theoretical Solid State Physics and Physics Teaching and Media.

Electron Microscopy Laboratory

The Laboratory of Electron Microscopy and Structural Characterization of Materials of the Solid State Physics Section was established in 1963, when it obtained its first Electron Microscope, the Siemens Elmiscop-1. Today the Laboratory possesses a full range of sophisticated equipment, including a High Resolution Electron Microscope JEOL 2011, a High Resolution Transmission Electron Microscope JEOL 2000FX, a Conventional Electron Microscope JEOL 100CX and an Atomic Force Microscope (AFM) Topometrix Truemetrix, as well as all the necessary devices for the sample preparation for Electron Microscopy.

Aristotle University of Thessaloniki